Recipe: Sweet Potato- Apple Crisp

I found a similar recipe when looking for a Thanskgiving dish to make.  Some things I didn’t like so I modified the recipe to make it my own.  Here’s my version:

Sweet Potato-Apple Crisp

5 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
1 ½  pkg cream cheese
1/3  c brown sugar
1 ½  tsp cinnamon
2 tsp sugar
3 small apples – peeled, cored, diced – use a good baking apple with lots of flavor
crisp topping (see below)

Boil potatoes in pot of water until fork tender.  Then drain and transfer to electric mixer.  Add cream cheese, brown sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon.  Beat until smooth and well incorporated.  Pour into 11×13 casserole dish. 

Mix ½ tsp cinnamon, sugar and apples until coated.  (If my apples are real tart and flavorful, skip the sugar, just depends on which kind you are using.) Spread over sweet potato mixture. Then evenly spread with crisp topping.  Bake at 350’ for 35 min.  Serve warm.

Crisp topping
½ c flour
1 c oats
¾ c brown sugar
½ tsp cinnamon
(Optional – ¼ c chopped walnuts)
6 tbsp butter (room temp)

Mix flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon and nuts.  Cut in butter until all incorporated.

3 comments

  1. Ginger! This is so crazy! I just had a sweet potato apple crisp at this amazing restaurant here in Indy the other day! I was extraordinary! To be honest, it didn’t sound good to me, but the waitress convinced me and I’m so glad she did! Now I find the recipe on your blog…awesome! I hope all is well! Your little guys is a knockout!

Leave a Reply

