Book Review: The Hunger Games

For Christmas I received the book, The Hunger Games, and was looking forward to reading it.  I had heard about it because they filmed some in my hometown of Charlotte (I actually had relatives who were in town for a few months working on-set.), and planned to read the book before seeing the movie.  However, in my emotional pregnant state, I was nervous I would feel so overwhelmed from what I had heard of the book – that it’s set in future North America which is now divided into 12 districts and a Capitol.  Each of the 12 districts is required to produce a teen boy and a teen girl to fight against the other districts child representatives to win benefits for their region – food, honor, etc.  Knowing how hard I cried (seriously, I was bawling for hours afterwards) seeing The Help and how the children were treated, I didn’t know if I could handle something like this. 

After some prodding from my sister, who NEVER reads anything but was promoting these books, I decided that I would try to read it before the baby came. 

SO. GOOD.

While the premise of teens fighting for their state in a Survivor-type setting is there, the focus isn’t on gruesome battles, but more on outwitting others, building relationships (including a love interest or two) and understanding the main character’s – Katniss Everdeen- life and past.  Her role as provider for her family when her father is killed and her mother goes into a deep depression leaving her to care for her little sister.  The book gives so much great detail that it is hard to put down (I read it in 5 hours one afternoon) and I couldn’t stop thinking about it for several days afterwards.  I loved some of the futuristic concepts of the book, while still having an almost-Depression-era setting.

I can’t wait to get into the next books in the series and read them before the movie comes out.  I know I won’t be able to put them down!  If you have read this book, tell me if you loved it as much as I did!!

One comment

Leave a Reply

