Learning to Discipline

In the past two years, I’ve learned that parenting is always challenging, and while it’s constantly changing, it doesn’t really get easier, it just gets different. Instead of battling late night feedings or calming a crying infant, you are learning to teach your toddler right from wrong and shaping their values.

Dean and I are right in the thick of it with Mr Landon. He’ll be two in just a month and already he’s becoming more opinionated and determined to do things his way. He gets upset if he doesn’t get it right the first time (i.e. putting in the puzzle piece or pushing the stroller and getting a wheel caught on a doorjam) and throws a mini-fit in frustration. He also is overusing the word, “no”. 🙂  As it’s our first time going through this, we are slowly learning techniques and finding our niche when it comes to parenting. Where am I asking too much of him – making ridiculous demands for a two-year old? Where am I being inconsistent in my parenting and possibly sending the wrong message? How can I parent and discipline with firmness and love?

I want to make sure I am doing the best I can to be a great mom to both of my children.  And as I go through this process with Landon, I am constantly praying for wisdom and guidance to get me through each day.  I want to raise an amazing young man who achieves even more than I can imagine for his future and I think that building a strong character and disposition now will make him a world changer!

Leave a Reply

