The Corinthians Kind of Love

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails.

This verse in Corinthians is one of my favorite, what a great example of what love is.  Love is all of the things I struggle with on a daily, scratch that – hourly, basis. 

Patience – like the patience I am lacking when it’s 6pm at night, the hubs is sitting in traffic and I am trying to get dinner ready despite the “mommy, mommy” pleas of my toddler and wailing “I’m hungry” cries from the baby.  When I, myself, have had a long day and just want to sit down and relax.

Easily Angered – see above – yes 6-7pm at my house, I am often VERY EASILY angered.

Keeps No Record of Wrongs – I wish I could say differently, but I keep a mental tally.  Especially when it comes to my husband and the ways I THINK he should treat me or things he should be doing for me or our family.  Often I am so consumed with thoughts of what could be better, that I forget to LOVE the many things he already does.

God, Grant me the ability to do a better job of LOVING.  I want to love my husband and sons with the same unconditional love you lavish on me.  I want to be a role model for my children as they grow.  And the role model I am being now needs some work.  Nudge my heart on a regular basis so that I am recognizing the ways I can live out I Corinthians 13. Amen.

He that is slow to wrath is of great understanding, Prov. 14:29

Leave a Reply

