The Food Network Prodigy

During college, I got into watching The Food Network shows.  It’s funny because I love watching them and I only kinda-like cooking.  If I had a built in dishwasher and prechopped foods, then I think I’d love it, but there is a lot of leg-work involved in cooking.  I find that I’ve learned a lot of tips over the years.

Here are a few of my favorites:
“You gotta let your meat rest for 5-10 mins before cutting so that the juices can settle and redistribute.  Otherwise, you’ll cut it open and all the moist juices will pour out and you’ll be left with a dry hunk of meat.”

“When you are cooking, you have to season (salt and pepper) at every step.”  (i.e. when making a spaghetti sauce – you want to season your meat while it’s cooking, then again when you add the onion and veggies, then again when you add the tomatos.  Because if not, then you aren’t laying the seasoning flavor.  You want your meat to taste right and you also want the tomatos to taste good.  If you only season at the beginning or the end you are missing out on imparting flavor in the other layers.)

“Frozen spinach is one of the best bangs for your buck in the produce department.  For the amount of money, you get a ton of spinach for a low cost.  To cook down raw and get the same amount, it would be very expensive.”

“Get your pan screaming hot before you add your meat – so you get a nice brown crust on it.” 

“When you need an ingredient for more than one component of your meal, i.e. garlic or onion, chop enough for both recipes and you don’t have to do it twice.”

There are so many more… thank you Food Network for the “almost culinary degree” over the years.

Anyone else have a tip they’d add?

One comment

  1. I havenˇ¦t checked in here for some time as I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess Iˇ¦ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

