A Semi-Permanent Tattoo

I think it’s pretty common for people to be entrepreneurial-esque and think of their own “multi-million dollar idea”.  The little thing you could manufacture and sell that could make you the next Bill Gates. Often, it’s something you have thought of because of a challenge you are faced with regularly.  The Snuggie, the childproof potty covers, the Pull-up!  Million dollar ideas out there.

I was thinking of my own idea the other day.  Something I wish was invented.  Something that would help me with a challenge I’m currently facing.  My idea:  The semi-permanent tattoo.

I want a tattoo that will last for 5 years and then completely disappear.  I think the biggest reason people don’t get tattoos (myself included) is because they can’t figure out something that they want to have marked on their body for the rest of their life.  Seasons of life change. People change.  Ideas change.  The thought of having that cool character or team logo may not strike your fancy 10 years down the road, but what about now?  What if you could get a tattoo for the season of life you are currently living in?

See… if I could get a five year tattoo right now, I would get lyrics scripted on my wrist.

“Lord, I want to be just like you, cause he wants to be like me.”  (lyrics from the song “I Want to be Just Like You” by Phillips Craig and Dean)

In my life right now I am in the busiest part of parenting.  The physically demanding stage.  Where my kids are super active and really need my undivided attention.  They also are at the age where they copy EVERYTHING I do.  Landon especially.  Sometimes I forget that I need to be a good example for them.  I can get caught following the motto, “do what I say, not what I do.”

“Landon, don’t lash out in anger when I ask you to do something you don’t want to do.”
“Brooks, stop whining and complaining – hold still.”

Sometimes I am so busy pointing the finger, I forget that I too, am guilty of doing these same things and my kids are just following my example.

I think the perfect mantra for my life for these next couple of years can be succinctly stated in those lyrics. A reminder I need to see on a regular basis.  I’d put the lyrics right on my wrist so I could see them every time I lifted my hand to point that finger, every time I threw my hands up in frustration.  A reminder that I need to be Godly in my example to them, so they can in turn grow to be Godly examples to others.

If I could invent a million dollar idea – that would be it. A tattoo that lasts for the stage of life I’m in.  As the stage moves and my mantra changes, I can get a NEW semi-permanent tattoo – to remind me of my new goals.

If you could get a five year tattoo, what would you get and why?

Leave a Reply

