Being Spontaneous

In my “old” age, I’m not as spontaneous as I used to be… it seems I always I have to have a plan.  The calendar gets full quickly, so I can often feel overwhelmed when “last minute” opportunties are made available.  Add to that the fact that I have a husband and two little kids to think about – whether it’s something I want to do on my own, or with the hubs, there is always planning involved (i.e. a babysitter).

We also often have a pretty full schedule with limited family time each evening and then the weekends to spend time together, but also to catch up on our errands and chores at the house.

Lately, I’ve been trying to think of ways that I can be a little more spontaneous with our family.  Things like grabbing a donut with Landon on a weekend morning while we run an errand is something that makes him feel special and also gets us out of the norm of our weekly routine.

This week, I decided while eating dinner, that we would just get up after the meal, leave the plates in the sink and head out as a family to enjoy the neighborhood Christmas lights.  We drove around the different sections of our neighborhood – Brooks, mesmerized by the bright lights, and Landon, oohing and ahhing over the bright lights and blown up Santas. 

It was unexpected.  There was no plan.  We didn’t pack everyone up and take 15 mins to get out the door.  We just went.   And for me, that made it even more special. 

As my kids get a little older and don’t require quite so much “routine”, I want to remember that NOW is the perfect time to make spontaneous family memories together.

Leave a Reply

