When it doesn’t go as planned…

Sometimes when things don’t go as I’ve planned them in my mind, my whole demeanor takes a hit.  I get into a funk and sometimes it can be hard to pull myself out of it.

Perfect example – last Monday.  It was going to be a great way to cap off our weekend – a Dean family day of fun.  Dean would be starting his job the next day, I took the day off – it would just be the four of us together for some family time.

When I originally thought about what we’d do (at the beginning of April) I thought maybe we’d head to the Columbia Riverbanks Zoo.  It would be a first for the kids to go to the zoo and something that would be a great outside activity.  When we got to the week before, I saw the forecast – with highs expected in the 40s, the zoo idea wasn’t going to work out.  So, I thought we could maybe head to Imaginon or the Huntersville Discovery Place and spend a long morning there.

Then over the weekend Brooks starting waking up 1-2 times a night screaming in pain – possibly teething, who knows?!  On Sunday (the night before our Day of Fun), Brooks was up half the night.  Dean had to finally take him downstairs and stroll him around for an hour or so and let him sleep in the stroller for a couple hours.  So, when morning rolled around after a short night – we were all on edge.  Landon was bouncing off the walls after a great night of sleep, but the rest of us were exhausted.  I could already tell before 9am that Brooks was not going to be in the position to get out of the house and he’d need a nap soon!

So all the planning, the day off work, Dean pushing his start date back a day – just for some family time – and it was a bust.  I was so frustrated with my family, with not doing anything fun we’d planned, with being exhausted.  It felt like such a failure and it affected me.  I was short with my husband, with my kids, with everything.

After laying down for the morning while the kids napped I made a decision – Yep, this day isn’t going as planned, it’s already half gone and it’s sucked.  But, I’m not going to let it suck anymore.  These are our circumstances for today – sleepy, grouchy kids/parents and terrible weather.  But we can turn this day around.

After naptime, we decided to make the best of the rest of our day. Landon colored eggs with mom while Brooksie took a second nap.  He loved it!  We took the kids to McDonalds to run around the play area.  They had a blast.  Dean and I got to watch a movie after the kids went to bed.  It turned out to be a fun afternoon and evening.

Sometimes, I have to remind myself that not every moment is going to live up to the expectation I dream up in my head.  But just because it’s only an 80% of what I envisioned doesn’t mean it wasn’t a success.  The kids really loved the day, and even more so, they loved time with us.  They loved an extra day with mom and dad instead of the usual – school/nanny.  And once I made the decision to love the day, I loved the extra time with my kiddos and husband.

These kids don’t look like they loved Playplace, do they?

fam day (1) fam day (2) fam day (3) fam day (4)

Leave a Reply

