I hope you remember…

I hope you remember the days we splashed in puddles and got soaked.

I hope you remember the celebration dances we did when you went on the potty.

I hope you remember the special one on one dates we did – to get ice cream or pick out a special treat at the store.

I hope you remember all the times we colored our letters on the shower wall with your tub crayons.

I hope you remember the nights we looked for Goldbug in your Richard Scarry books.

I hope you remember the high-fives after a successful doctor visit.

I hope you remember singing “our jams” with the speakers blasting.

I know that some days I am a failure as a parent. I don’t know what to do when it comes to disciplining. I know I lose my temper at times. I know there are times that I just don’t seem to get through to you.  But I’m working on it.  I want to be a better mom. I want you to look back on your childhood and remember all of the awesome times we spend together, instead of remembering the times where I’m a “mean mommy”.  I want your memories of growing up to be as great as mine are.

One comment

Leave a Reply

