Recipe: Sausage, Feta, Tomato Pasta

This pasta dish is very similar to a recipe my mom made a lot in my later teen years.  While I used to make it pretty often, I’d forgotten about it, until I was grocery shopping in the sausage section the other weekend and remembered how much I loved this dish.

Sausage, Feta, Tomato Pasta

1 box of pasta (I used penne)
1 lb package of bulk sausage (I used Jimmy Dean sage flavored pork sausage in a roll)
1 pint grape tomatoes – sliced in half
1/4 cup feta crumbles
about 10-15 leaves fresh basil – rough chopped
S&P

Boil pasta in water as instructed on box.  While pasta is cooking, in a large skillet, brown the pork until completely cooked and no longer pink.  I like mine to get a little crispy and extra flavorful on the outside so I really let it cook.  (You can also use sausage in casings or hot sausage. By using sausage without the casings, I think it really added a lot more of the sausage flavor throughout since the crumbles were so smaller.)

Once sausage is browned, add in the tomatoes and cook for about 2-3 more minutes until they get slightly soft. (Note – if there is a TON of sausage drippings in the pan, you may want to drain off first. I like to have some because it adds great flavor but you don’t want it super greasy.) Turn off heat and toss in the feta and chopped basil.  Add the drained, cooked pasta and stir to incorporate.  The sausage drippings help add some saltiness to the dish, but taste first and season as needed with the salt and pepper.

pasta sausage

One comment

Leave a Reply

