When I get 16…

I remember when I was little, always looking forward to the future.

When I get older, I’ll get married and have kids.
When I get older, I won’t have to listen to my parents.
When I get older, I’ll be able to drive.

Lately, Landon’s going through a stage where he picks a date and often tells me all the things he’ll be doing then – lately it’s been age 16.

“Mom, when I get 16, I’m going to drive a big dump truck.” (Yes, he doesn’t use ‘turn 16’, always ‘get 16′.)
“Mom, when I get 16, I’m going to have gum.” (At almost 4, he’s never gotten to try gum, I think he’d just swallow it!)
“Mom, when I get 16, I’m going to drive a big lawnmower like daddy.”
“Mom, when I get 16, I’m going to stay up really late to watch a movie.”

Thinking back on many of my milestones I used to dream about, I don’t think I had the same excitement about the milestones once they finally came.  It makes me wonder if he’ll still be as excited about these milestones once they arrive.

Leave a Reply

