Recipe: Mile High Rocky Road Marshmallow Bars

I know every woman has in her arsenal a “go-to” appetizer or dessert that you can whip up with 5 ingredients or less and know it will be a hit at the party!  This is one of those recipes for me.

When I worked in the mortgage finance world, they passed out desk calendars each January.  One year, the calendar had a recipe of the month on each page and I adapted one of those monthly recipes to come up with these rocky road marshmallow bars.

One day, I made them as directed but I wasn’t in love with the flavor.  Their recipe had butterscotch chips, which I replaced with peanut butter chips and I also changed some of the ratios to fit my taste.

The Mile High Rocky Road Marshmallow Bars

choc marsh bars

1 pk choc chips (I like to use milk chocolate but if you like another kind, try them out!)
1 pk PB chips – the peanut butter version of choc chips (the original recipe calls for butterscotch chips but I changed it, you may want to try the original way)
About a half cup of chunky peanut butter (I use one to two heaping spoonful’s)
About half to three-quarters cup of peanuts (I use honey roasted)
1 ½ bags of mini marshmallows

Put two types of chips and PB in large microwaveable bowl. Microwave on 60% power for 90 seconds. Stir.  Microwave for 20 second intervals, stirring in between until chips are completely melted and incorporated.  Stir in peanuts and marshmallows and mix until the chocolate covers everything.  Pour out into foil lined 9×13 dish.  Refrigerate until chocolate hardens (I usually do it overnight but it probably only takes an hour or two to set). Then cut into small bars – they are rich so I usually do 1.5″x1.5″ squares.

I prefer to serve them cold where the chocolate is a little harder and crunchy, offsetting the soft marshmallows.  I’ve also had some people tell me they like them better sitting out – when the chocolate and marshmallows are more soft and gooey.

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

