Recipe: Creamy Mexican Chicken Soup

I’m always rushing around in the mornings.  That happens when every minute of sleep is worth gold.  So I always get up as late as I can, and then run around like a mad woman to get kids out the door or prep dinner for that evening.

The other week, I knew I was going to be home late and I wanted to make it as easy as possibly for the hubs to prep dinner with two whiney, starving monsters.

So that morning I threw these ingredients in a crockpot and it turned out delicious!

Creamy Mexican Chicken Soup

5 still-frozen chicken breasts
28 oz can crushed tomatos
14.4 oz can chicken broth
huge (40-ish oz) can chili beans (I’m guessing it was the equivalent of 3-15 oz cans)
about a cup of frozen corn
2 tbsp ground cumin
1 block of cream cheese

Throw the first 6 ingredients in a slow cooker on low (mine cooks quick, adjust yours accordingly) for 8 hours. Once cooked, use two forks to shred the chicken into chunks.  Then, stir in a block of cream cheese and it should melt into a creamy consistency.  Serve hot!

Optional:  I threw some crushed tortilla chips on top each serving as a garnish.

Leave a Reply

