Thanks in the morning and evening.

As I am reading through Linda Dillow’s “What’s it like to be married to me”, I’ve been challenged in my role as Dean’s wife and helper.  One of the recent challenges in the study, is to apply Psalm 92 to how I thank God for my husband.  To daily thank God for Dean and what he brings to our relationship.

“It is good to give thanks to the Lord, to sing praises to the Most High.
It is good to proclaim your unfailing love in the morning,  your faithfulness in the evening,” Psalm 92:1-2

It says we need to be thankful in the morning and the evening.  Dillow’s challenge is to keep a thankful journal and write down in the mornings and evenings things we are thankful for with our husbands.

This has been a great challenge for me – to recognize the things that Dean does to make our family what it is.  Too often, I can focus on the things that aren’t getting done, instead of the ways he consistently makes us better.

Some of the things I’ve written lately:

– I am thankful for a husband who is a humble hardworker.  Dean gets recognized often at his work for doing a great job.  He often wins awards, gets excellent reviews, gets special bonuses and recognition and has higher ups back him for big projects, etc.  No one knows that. He doesn’t toot his own horn to others. He just goes into work every day and works his butt off to provide for his family and make sure that we can live a fun, exciting and comfortable life.

– I am thankful for a husband who is so awesome with our kids.  I love that he spends time teaching Landon how to play baseball or ride a bike. I love that he wears a “too small” kids lion hat around and lets Brooks ride on the lion’s (his) back.  I love that Landon begs to have daddy come in to snuggle him every night for bed.

– I am thankful for a husband who loves to better himself and sticks to it.  If Dean does an exercise plan, it’s not for two weeks – he commits and does the entire program. If he wants to learn a new IT system, he watches hours of YouTube videos and online lessons to teach himself.  When we got our new house, he learned how to use all the things we didn’t know how to do (sprinkler system, etc).  I love that he strives to be a better person.

I also had a lot of little things on my list, like:

– his ability to forgive quickly
– that he participates in the chores of our home willingly
– that he is so responsible and organized
– that he knows so much about computers
– that he knows when I just sometimes ‘need to be held’
– that he can put things in perspective when I can’t
– that he is hilarious

It’s been a great practice for me to keep my husband at the forefront of my thankful journal. That I am learning to be aware of all the great things he does and appreciate him for them.

Leave a Reply

