Recipe: Cantina Bowl Casserole

I love Mexican food and we eat a lot of variations on Mexican in our house. Whether it’s a taco salad, nachos, burritos or a casserole, there is a lot of salsa and cheese flying around my kitchen.  I have never had a Taco Bell Cantina Bowl before, but I’ve seen the commercials and decided to do my own variation on a Cantina Bowl for casserole one night.  It was so easy to throw together since I always keep these things stocked.  And it’s an easy recipe to substitute in and out for – depending on what you have on hand.  I also was able to crock pot cook my chicken so it was ready to go as soon as I got home.

Cantina Bowl Casserole

1. Layer one: Brown rice.  I like to make mine with chicken stock for a little extra flavor. I also added a little cumin and some chopped fresh cilantro from my garden. The fresh cilantro was key! Yum! If you want, you can use white rice, or quinoa, or some other starchy layer

2. Layer two: Canned black beans. I slightly drained and then poured right over top

cantina 1

Layer 3: Crock Pot Chicken. That morning I threw a couple frozen chicken breast and a medium size can of enchilada sauce on top. Cooked on low all day and when I came home, it made assembling this dish so easy!

cantina3

Layer 4: Grilled mushrooms.  I cooked up some mushrooms until they were meaty and tender.

Layer 5: Frozen corn. Straight out of the bag.

Layer 6: Mexican cheese blend.

cantina2

 

Then I cooked it in the oven for about 20 mins at 350°. Just until the cheese melted and the corn and beans were warmed.

I served with a dollop of sour cream and salsa on top and it was delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

