Kids Say: Tattletales

We’ve been working on not tattling to mom and dad every single time someone touches our toy or looks at us the wrong way.  I want my kids to be able to resolve their challenges with each other and with their friends.

We were packing up for Landon and Brooks to head over to Aunt H and Uncle Z’s for a night with their cousins – Harleigh and Lawson.

Landon:  “Mom, we should not do any tattletales at Aunt H’s house, right?”

Me: “Yes, we need to make sure that we are not tattling unless someone is hurt. But we can try to work out our problems on our own.” (in my head, I’m thinking – “Yay, he’s getting it. He knows he needs to be selective in what he tells us and should work on handling his little fights on his own first.” Insert Great Parenting pat on the back to myself.)

Landon: “Yeah, can you tell Aunt Heidi that Harleigh can’t tattle on me when we come over there. She is always tattletaling on me.”

Visualize me reversing that Great Parenting pat on the back.

Leave a Reply

