Date Night

You may remember some of the “resolutions” or goals we set for our family in 2014.  Part of that was implementing some one-on-one dates with our kids.  We’ve done a few of them so far and the kids love them.  Sometimes they say, “No, I don’t want to go with Mom, I want to go with Dad.” or vice versa. But, generally, they love the special time.

Brooks and I went on a date recently and it was sweet. (Literally.)

We headed to TCBY (or TBCY – as they call it) for some fro-yo and conversation.

date Brooks Mom

Of course, I got several passersby telling me how adorable he was and what a fine looking kid he is.  And he LOVED all the attention.  He was so focused on checking out a little teenager that he ran into an oversize flower pot while he gave her ‘the eyes’!

I used some of our date to check in on him and ask him some all important life questions. Just call me Barbara Walters!

M: Brooks, what do you want to be when you grow up?
B: I like to ride in airplanes.
M: So – you’re gonna be a pilot.
B: And drive Tow ‘Mater.

M: What is your favorite color?
B:  What is YOUR favorite color?
M: I asked you first!
B: I like green.

M: What is the best part of your ice cream?
B: Pink balls (strawberry bobos)
M: Yeah, those are delicious.

M:  Who is your best friend?
B: W(L)andon. (pause) and W(L)awson.

then he proceeded to cut the interview short by pointing out all the airplanes flying through the sky.
“Wook at dat airpwane.”

 

Meanwhile, I got a text of Daddy and Landon on their fun date:
Landon Nascar date

They had a blast at Qualifying for the Coca-Cola 600.  These boys love racecars. Next year they are doing a boys date so Brooks can join!

I love dating all three of my boys!

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

