An update on our 2014 goals – mid year

As we near the mid-way point of 2014, I wanted to take stock of our goals for the year and see how we’re doing so far.  And also to remind myself to get on the ball for some of the ones I have yet to tackle.

Here goes:

1 – Go on a family of four vacation.  We rarely do this.  We are always visiting other family or with other friends or family.  This year, I’d like to do a Dean family trip. <<Yes, this is still on my radar.  I’ve actually talked about it several times with Dean and we are thinking late summer or early fall. It will likely be a beach trip, but we aren’t certain yet!>>
2 – Get up to Maine for our family reunion.  I would love to get to Maine this year for our Bradbury side of the family reunion.  Over 100 people get together in Old Orchard Beach for family camaraderie and fun.  <<The house is booked and we have checked out airfare.  Should be a great week with family.>>
3 – Make some purchases and upgrades for our house.  I feel like our house projects could be a list in and of itself – but here are some high priority items for our family this year.  Get a new desk, get a new kitchen table, organize a dedicated office space.  Paint our dining room and living space. (pics to come, tackled that with my mommy dearest over MLK weekend!) Paint our half bathroom.  Paint Landon’s room.  Get a new sink for the kitchen (I hate double bowl sinks!). <<Some of these things are in process and some are not and likely won’t be this year.  We’ve painted Landon’s room. Hopefully I’ll get around to some before and after pics soon. Who knows though, I see I promised some dining room pics and those haven’t happened.  I definitely think we’ll also have the desk and office set up this year.  We put in the garden and it’s thriving. I’ve also painted some other nooks/areas in the house and did a few arts and crafts to start getting things on the walls and shelves. Slowly and surely, right?!>>
4 – Financial goals.  Dean and I have a lot of personal financial goals for our family regarding how much we save, how much we tithe, how much we put into retirement, money towards the kids accounts, etc.  This year we have our loftiest goals yet but I really believe we can hit them.  The good news is we have absolutely no big purchases planned for the year (no new car, house, etc) so that will help us to be even better with our savings goals. <<In progress. I think we’re doing ok on this, but I’m sure we could be doing better.  It’s expensive to have two kids in full-time childcare, plus decorate a house with all the usual expenses – mortgage, tithe, 401k! So far, going pretty good!>>
5 – Go on more date nights.  My sister and I do a great job of keeping each others kids a couple times a month, but usually Dean and I use that time to go to our couples bible study or run errands.  We need to do a better job of planning date nights. And taking turns on it (hint, hint husband!) <<We haven’t been excelling in this area.  Most of our time together is at home after the kids go to bed, but we are working on it.>>
6 – Go on a husband/wife trip away.  Can you believe that the only time Dean and I have ever gone on a trip alone has been our honeymoon?!  We don’t do weekends away anywhere and even our big trips (with kids) and vacations (without kids) have been with other friends or family members. <<Nothing booked yet, but I keep looking at edeals for the Dominican Republic.  We are planning for the fall, so there is plenty of time!>>
7 – Get into a new bible study book.  Since I closed out my womens group in December, I have done a TERRIBLE job (i.e. nonexistent) getting into my bible.  This has been such an extreme change because last fall I was really into my studies and quiet time. I was in the zone and was loving where I was in my walk with God.  Right now – it is the complete opposite and I can’t seem to get myself back on track.  Luckily, our couples group is starting back this month and my womens group starts again in February.  <<I did the study – it went ok for me but was also very frustrating.  Linda Dillow’s ‘What’s it like to be married to me’.  I started strong but it slowed at the end.  I am trying to get back into a routine on quiet time this summer. So far I have a little momentum, but need to stay on top of it.>>
8 – Host people at our house.  Again, something we didn’t do much in our old house, but we’d like to do at least two things this year where we invite people over for a BBQ or to swim or something.  <<We haven’t done much of this yet. Probably because we still have unfurnished rooms with boxes so I think as we have less weekend house projects, we’ll have more time for people to visit completed rooms!  We’ve invited family over a few times and hopefully we’ll invite some friends over in the second half of the year! Basically, I’d give myself a C- in this area.>>
9 – Do one-on-one dates with our kids at least 6 times this year.  Not just one-on-one errand time (which we do a lot of), but special, let’s-go-do-something-fun time with our kiddos.  Where Dean takes one and I take the other and we switch the next time.  I want my kids to have times where they get my undivided attention and we just hang out. <<We are doing a pretty good job of this.  The kids love it and it’s always sweet to have the one-on-one time with them and catch up individually.>>
10 – Find a way to serve.  Whether it’s at church or in the community, I want to do a better job of making a difference in my environment.  I don’t feel like this is something our family does well. Sure, we will put money towards something if there is a need, but I want to do a better job giving time.  And showing our kids the importance of doing things for other people. <<Nothing this year but this is something I’d like to get into and do consistently.>>
11 – Get my exercise on all year.  I think I did a good job last fall exercising a lot and lately I’ve struggled with it getting dark early and finding time, but now that our elliptical is up and running, I want to have a great year where I stay consistent all year long.  Exercising 3-4 times every week would be a great goal – running, workout classes, elliptical, P90X, Insanity, there are so many things we can do and I want to get into a good groove again because I notice I am mentally stronger when I exercise regularly.  <<I’ve done a pretty good job of staying consistent with a few days of exercise each week.  Some weeks it’s three days and sometimes five.  Usually it’s running or the elliptical, but I’ve been known to throw in a P90X or Insanity tape in there too!>>

How are you doing in your goals for 2014 – are you like me –  rocking in some areas and completely, off-the-charts terrible in others?

Leave a Reply

