A dose of gratitude

Lately, I’ve been feeling an extra dose of gratitude.  And sadness.  I think a lot of time sadness reminds me to be so thankful for what I have.

When I hear stories of little kids who are sick with cancer – two and three year old babes who have spent more of their life in the hospital than out, I feel sick inside.  It reminds me to be so thankful for my two healthy boys at home.  A reminder that in an instant, a life can be turned upside-down with just one diagnosis.

When I watch the news and there is another school shooting or a mom accused of hurting her children.  My heart freezes in these moments.  How can there be so much bad in this world?  It hurts to think that every single second of the day, people are out there suffering.  Innocent people. Unassuming people.   These moments remind me to be thankful for my today, because who knows if there will be a tomorrow.

When I feel stressed with my never ending to do list, when I feel overwhelmed with my role as wife, mom, employee, daughter, sister, friend, I remember that I am blessed with a body that can do so many things. I have the ability to go outside and walk with my kids, or run up the stairs when I clean my house.  I also remember that it’s ok if it doesn’t all get done.  No one but me is going to care that the Pinterest-esque projects aren’t done yet.  That the height chart to track my kids growth is still sitting incomplete in the garage – months after I bought the wood.

When I am frustrated at myself for things I think I can do better, I am grateful for a husband who helps me put it all into perspective.  I know I don’t always like to hear it, but it reminds me that the world is so much bigger than the little things in my head.  And that there will be time to try again later and hopefully do it better the next time.

There is so much to be grateful for in this world.  So many things that bring me joy:

The Big Guy, my big guy, my little guys, health, family, running, quiet time, laughing, a good meal, relaxing, playing with my kids, a clean house, a snuggly bed, bedtime stories, a great cupcake, mint tea, a fresh perspective, a new day

Leave a Reply

