How to make your adult kids happy

Dear grandparents,

I’d like to share a recipe for making your adult kids happy:

– Without their knowledge, book a cute cabin in the mountains so they can get away for a kid-free weekend of relaxation.

– Schedule some free time and some suggested activities

– Give them some spending money to “force” them to enjoy themselves with some extra activities. 🙂

– Pack an entire cooler of food and beverages so that they literally don’t have to do a thing.

– Have their spouses pack their bags (and the kids’ bags).

– Have their husband call surprise them with 30 mins notice to get to a meeting spot on a Friday afternoon to be whisked away for a weekend of fun with the siblings and spouses.

– Take care of all 5 of your grandkids (aged 4, 4, 2, 2, 2) for two nights so your kiddo’s get some sibling and spouse time.

Last weekend, my sister, brother and I hit the road with our spouses for some awesome kid-free time. Some laughter. Shared stories. And new memories.

Yes, this is a recipe for a super awesome weekend to refresh and recharge.

Yes, my parents really are that great for surprising us with a fully planned weekend away!

Maybe I’ll even post some pics of our trip next week!

4 comments

  1. That is awesome! Jealous! My mom is the only one who ever helps in my family with kids or giving us a break, but due to distance it doesn’t happen much. I vow to be this kind of grandparent for my kids and future grandkids!

    1. Agreed – it is so awesome to have family involved. Both my parents and my husband’s parents do a great job keeping up with our kids and it is such a blessing. Plus my kids love their close relationship.

Leave a Reply

