Recipe: Tilapia, Quinoa & Roasted Veggie Tacos

We tend to eat a lot of the same types of foods in our house and then just give them a twist or a remix so that the flavor is different.

After a weekend of parties and party food/drinks, I wanted something that tasted fresh from the garden and good in my belly!

Here’s what I threw together:

 

til veg tacos

For the fish tacos with quinoa and veggies:

I took some frozen tilapia and let it thaw. Then I pan seared it with some cumin and taco seasoning brushed on the outside.  Meanwhile, I put some quinoa in my ricer and let it cook. (Ricers are awesome!)

I also had some fresh broccoli and cauliflower that needed to be cooked so I chopped it into bite-sized pieces and roasted it in the oven with a couple tbsp. of olive oil and a whole bunch of minced garlic.

To assemble – I threw quinoa, hunks of seasoned tilapia and the roasted veggies into the flour tortilla.  Then I topped each with a generous spoonful of fresh corn salsa and Mexican sour cream.

It was easy and delicious.  The quinoa in the tacos was a nice mix up for us.

Corn Salsa:
3 ears of corn
10 fresh from the garden grape tomatoes
6 leaves of basil (also fresh from the garden)
splash of white wine vinegar
S&P

Cut the corn off the ears and mix with remaining ingredients.

Mexican Sour Cream:
Mix equal parts salsa and sour cream.

Leave a Reply

