I’m not going to play.

After several days of complete chaos in the kids play room, I told the boys that they needed to do a better job of cleaning up their toys after playtime and not leaving them out everywhere.

Landon responded, “Well, I’m just not going to play.”

Isn’t that a funny response.  Instead of having a great time playing for hours and doing about 5 minutes of clean up, his response is to not play.

It hit me – wow, I can completely relate to that.

– How often do I choose not to do paint projects with the kids because I know how long it will take to set up and clean up?

– How often do I skip taking my kids to the store because it’s a hassle for me to unbuckle and buckle both kids over and over at each stop?

– How often do I think of a cool home decorating idea, but never do it because I don’t want to put in the effort?

Sometimes I need to remind myself to take the extra effort, to embrace the mess, and do things with my kids or for myself, even if it takes some extra work.

Working all week long, sometimes the last thing I want is the extra work, but isn’t it worth it when you see those little eyes light up during the fun project or how amazing it is to see your room transformed through a little bit of elbow grease.

Sometimes, you just gotta play.  And know the mess was worth it!

Leave a Reply

