DIY: Initial Art

I’ve been trying to think of way to decorate the walls of my kids rooms.  When I was walking through Micheals I was inspired by the mixture of wooden letters.  I decided that I was going to get a bunch of them to decorate the space above his bed.

Here’s what I did…

I bought a bunch of different L’s – different shapes and sizes, and I took them home and painted them with an assortment of teal and orange colors.  The colors of his room.

Lart1

After they dried overnight.  I took out a 24×36 canvas and laid them out.  I tried several different looks to finally settle on a look I liked.  Then I used wood glue to attach them to the canvas.

**I originally tried to nail flat thumbtacks in from the back thinking it would be the most secure. But many of the letters were too thin and they also kept breaking, so wood glue was option two and it seemed to work well.

Lart2

Next up is to frame it. I’d love to find an inexpensive framed pic at goodwill that I can paint and repurpose.

How do you incorporate your kids personality and names in their rooms?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

