Recipe: Chicken Cordon Bleu Roll

This recipe came about as one of those… “I have a pastry dough leftover from making baked brie, what can I do with it?!” moments.

I knew I would have to use it quickly so scanning the pantry and fridge, here’s what I put together.

The great thing about this recipe is that it is sooo quick.  And the concept is there to make it into many other types of Rolls.

Recipe:

1 Pillsbury pastry sheet (There were two in a pack and I had one left over that I’d already thawed)
2 TBSP mayo
2 TBSP sour cream
1 can chunk chicken (like the canned tuna – but chicken and it’s larger)
Ham slices
Swiss cheese slices

I mixed together in a small bowl the chicken, mayo and sour cream… almost like making chicken salad.

Then I laid out the pastry dough on a greased cookie sheet.  I topped that with a couple slices of ham across the middle (about 5-6 total), then I topped it with sliced swiss cheese (about 3-4 slices). After that I spread the chicken mixture down the middle:

cord 1

Then I rolled the sides over the mixture to make a little roll, while pinching the ends shut to seal:
cord2

I baked it at 400° (preheated) for about 20 minutes until it was golden:
cord3

Then I let it cool for about 10 minutes, sliced and served:
cord4

I will say that while it was ok as a leftover… it tasted really great when it was super hot and the dough was flakey and tender.  It was hard to replicate the dough when it was reheated in the microwave the next day.

With this concept, it would be so easy to make other kinds of rolls… ham, pork, mustard and pickles for a Cuban style, or ham, pepperoni, provolone and banana peppers or antipasto for an Italian style.

Leave a Reply

