Figuring out my 30’s

Life in your 30’s is a different animal.  With my 20’s spent figuring out who I was and where I wanted to go in life… my 30’s were focused on accomplishing some of those dreams I made for myself as a freshly minted college grad.

And I don’t mean just the usual – married, kids, house… of course, I’m always working towards my goal of being a rockstar mom, wife, friend, daughter, etc.

But what about the other things I always envisioned for myself:

The visions of how I was going to make a difference in this world.
The dream of traveling the world and learning about other cultures and people.
The desire to be settled and ahead of the game in my career path.

I guess when I was in my 20’s, I’d always looked at women in their 30’s and figured they had it all together.  I’d see women in their 30’s who were just nailing it in their role as a wife and mother, ladies rocking their job in big ways, women who seemed to have a clue about how to navigate life.

I thought… by the time I’m in my 30’s, I’ll have it all figured out. 

Now I’m there and know that I’m not as far along as I expected.  Now I look to women in their 40’s and think… when I hit 40 – I’ll get it together.  I’ll make bigger dents in my goals. I won’t feel so all over the place all the time.  I’ll get some of my bucket list covered. 

But, I imagine that truthfully, I won’t have it all figured out by 40 either.  I guess that’s what your earlier years are for… all the dreams and goals you set for yourself and then your 30’s are for realizing that the goals and dreams you set way back when are probably life goals (not 10 year goals). Things I’ll probably always be working towards.  And that’s ok. As long as I’m making progress, it’s ok if I don’t “have it together” yet.

 

Leave a Reply

