Fitbit: Review

I’ve been surprised over the past year how much people comment on my FitBit.  It’s not uncommon for me to be checking out the store, meeting someone new at church, at a kids playdate and people ask, “Is that a FitBit? How do you like it?”

I figure I’d throw my two cents out there on what I like and don’t like about it.

fitbit

I have the FitBit Force – which is no longer in circulation. They had the big recall for skin irritation and just announced some new and improved watches coming out this year and next to replace that model.

Things I love:
1 – It’s very compact and easy to use.  Some monitors and trackers are big and bulky and this one is slim and modern. I love that on this model – as opposed to the Flex version, I can see my actual steps, mileage, calories burned, etc.  On the Flex, there are just little lights that shine when you hit a certain percentage, but I like to be able to see how close I am.

2 – I love that it tracks sleep.  While I don’t track it all the time now, for several months, I wore and tracked all the time so I could see how I slept and I was surprised at how often I would wake and have activity in my sleep.  And it was also interested to see how rested I was when I only had activity a handful of times.

3 – I love that I can check it on my phone and sync it with other apps. I have it sync to other fitness apps – like “My Fitness Pal” which makes it so easy to use multiple apps simultaneously.

4 – It’s motivating.  When I check out my tracker and see where I am in the day, it pushes me to take a walk around the block during my work day, or go ahead and get out on a quick run even when I’d rather snuggle my couch.  I generally can guess, with relative accuracy, where I am in my step count for the day based on what I’ve been doing so it’s a good reminder to get out there and hit the street for a little bit.

Things I don’t like:
1 – I had an issue with the skin irritation. It got really bad on my left wrist – the natural wrist for a right hander – but I had to switch it to my other hand and then be more cautious about it when I wore it.  For example, I would take it off for five minutes after my runs when I was super sweaty to let my skin air dry before I put it back on.

2 – It definitely comes off easily.  I’ve “lost” it more than once when picking up a kid or taking off my jacket because the clasp is backwards and easily opens.

3 – It’s not 100% accurate, especially when running. I’m sure it’s because the stride is longer on my runs, but I’ll just my Nike app during runs to track my distance and pace and the FitBit is always short when I run, usually by at least 10-15%.  Because I’m mostly using it to see how many steps I take in a day, I don’t mind that much. I just rely on my Nike app for training distances.

All in all, I love having it. It’s definitely motivated me more to get out and exercise. There have been more than one occasion where I’ve just walked around my bedroom late at night because I only need 500 more steps to hit my goal for the day and I want to get there!  And I really love being able to see how many steps I’m taking on the weekends when we have TONS of errands and projects on the radar, they add up quickly!

Anyone else use a fitness tracker? Love it, hate it? What’s the best feature?

 

Leave a Reply

