With thanksgiving

If you know me well, you may know that one of my top 5 verses is Philippians 4:6-8. I tend to be a pessimist, a worrier, an overthinker and this verse just speaks to me.  Lately, I’ve been honing in on two words of verse 6.

6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

WITH THANKSGIVING – what a great reminder.

I know that when I’m stressed or worried, I need to bring it to God. To pray and ask Him to calm my heart. To ask for what I want.  To lay it out before Him. But too often, I overlook the “with thanksgiving” part.  The part that tells me that when I’m bringing my requests, I need to also bring my thanks.

Thanks to Him for bringing me through past trials.
Thanks to Him for the great life I live and the fact that my worries are minimal compared to so many others.
Thanks to Him for closing doors and opening them. For giving us a set direction in what our life should be.
Thanks for so many blessings and the ability to be surrounded by an infinite number of positive and awesome things.
Thanks for answering our prayers, even if they weren’t the answer we were hoping for.
Thanks for speaking to me. For allowing me to have a close relationship with Him when I am the least deserving of Him and His presence.
Thanks for the people who are in our life and help us walk through the good and the bad.

Yes, I am so very good at bringing my requests. But I’m not very good at remembering the thanks.  Especially as we dig into this time of year – my absolute favorite – I’m going to make a concerted effort to give more thanks. It doesn’t mean I’m not going to have requests, it means that I’m going to order my prayer and give thanks for everything before I load Him down with my struggles and worries.

Yes, this is the perfect time for me to focus on thanksgiving.

6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

One comment

  1. Ginger, I am in total agreement, and have learned from many past trials and troubles, that God never makes a mistake, and that we must be thankful in all circumstances. AMEN

Leave a Reply

