Recipe: Roasted Pumpkin with Mushroom Risotto

Sometimes I need easy “cheat” meals during the workweek. Something that is out of a box that I can modify to make my own.  This is one of those recipes.

Also for all of you pumpkin decorators – what a great use for that Thanksgiving décor you have all over the house. Just cut up one of those pumpkins and roast it in the oven so you can use it for recipes like this risotto, pumpkin bread and pumpkin cookies. All those fall staples!

Roasted Pumpkin with Mushroom Risotto

The cheat part is the risotto. I just grabbed a few packages of this risotto mix at the grocery store and prepared it as directed on the box.

risotto

While it was simmering for the 18 minutes (as directed on the package). I pulled out some of the extra pumpkin I had in the refrigerator from my post-Halloween pumpkin carving.

The Roasted Pumpkin:
Like I said, I’d already cut up my pumpkins after Halloween – I cut them into large chunks, pulled out the seeds and inner ‘goo’ and roasted it in the oven a couple weeks ago and then when it was cool, I chopped it into large cubes with no outer skin attached. Then I put it into a few gallon bags and stored it (some in the fridge and some in the freezer) to make pumpkin cookies, pumpkin bread and for other future recipes.

I took out my pumpkin cubes (they were about the size of ice cubes or larger) and then cubed them down into smaller, sugar cube sized pumpkin pieces.

In a skillet, I heated a few tablespoons of coconut oil on medium/medium-high. Once the skillet was hot, I added the pumpkin cubes – about 2.5 cups worth.  I let those cook for a few minutes and start getting slightly browned on the outside. Then I started seasoning them.  A few teaspoons each of: garlic salt, paprika, oregano, chicken seasoning powder (its like bulk powdered bouillon), cumin, and pepper.  There was definitely a lot of cumin because it had a smoky, almost Mexican flavor when it was done.

risotto2

Then I topped my risotto with the roasted, seasoned pumpkin and served for dinner.  It was delicious. My favorite part was definitely the pumpkin – I had extra of just the pumpkin after I finished, it was addicting.

risotto3

This was my first time cooking pumpkin in a savory way and I loved it!  Anyone else have great recipes for their leftover Thanksgiving decorations?

Leave a Reply

