Remain in me.

Our church just finished a series where we focused on John 15.  During the series, our pastor challenged us to read it every day during the 5 week series and to memorize the whole chapter.  As I read each passage hundreds of times over the past few weeks, it’s really seeped into my soul.

Remain in me as I remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself, it must remain in the vine.”

“If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit, apart from me you can do nothing.”

“If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish and it will be done for you.”

These are just a few of the references to REMAIN IN ME in the passage.  In the past few weeks those words have flashed into my mind many times:

When I feel like I just need a break from my daily responsibilities but my family needs me to be present.  He whispers “remain in me”.
When I get news that my husband has to go back to the doctor because they’ve found cancerous cells.  He whispers “remain in me”.
When I am angry and frustrated because I’m not hitting my personal goals.  He whispers “remain in me”.
When I lay in bed and wonder if we made good year-end financial decisions.  He whispers “remain in me”.
When my mind wonders what I would do if something ever happened to my husband… to my kids. He whispers “remain in me”.

Digging into and breaking down each word of John 15 has been huge for me lately.  In those moments where things feel hard or unmanageable, He is whispering to me. If I remain in Him, anything is possible. 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

