I’m renewing my mind.

Right now my women’s bible study is reading Battlefield of the Mind by Joyce Meyer. It is so good.  So many mind-changing, life-changing concepts that I want to put into practice long after the book is completed!

One of the biggest concepts she discusses is the practice of renewing your mind – daily.  Knowing that satan is constantly pushing negative thoughts and lies into our minds we have to a) be aware of the lies that are coming in and b) renew our minds each and every day and fill it with God-like thoughts.

How I am doing this:

1) Getting in God’s Word.  Joyce shares a ton of great scriptures in the book and I’ve been digging into them in the bible to get more of the context of the verse and what it means.

2) Being aware, then changing my thought process.  One of the biggest things for me is just being aware of the negative thoughts I have. Like Joyce says, I’ve got to think about what I’m thinking about. If it is a negative thought, why am I thinking that way?  Is it something in my past that makes me think that I am unworthy/not good enough/not applicable?  And then I have to take that thought and try to think about it in a positive light.  I can/I will/I am… I’m reteaching myself how to approach my thoughts.

3) Memorizing scripture.  One of the biggest ways for me to really engrain God’s Word in my mind is to memorize scriptures.  Romans 8:28, Philippians 1:6, Proverbs 23:7, Romans 12:2.  These are some of the ones I’m working on right now.  The more I get these in my head and work to memorize them, the more I think about what the verse means and areas it applies in my life.

Take Romans 8:28 – “And we know that in all things, Christ works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  So when I have a let down moment, or something falls through, like we didn’t get the house we bid on, I can trust that God is working that for good and he has a better plan for me. Maybe it’s a better house, maybe we are coming up on some financial crunch I can’t foresee, maybe it’s a house that would be a danger to our family, etc. I don’t necessarily know what it is, but I do know that God is working for me.  Because His scriptures say He is – and I trust that.

I know that a lot of my negative thought processes come from my own internal protection system. If I expect the worse and plan for the worse then I will be pleasantly surprised when things work out better than I expect.  But, recently, I’ve been thinking about choosing to be optimistic about some of my thoughts.  What’s the worse that could happen if I choose to expect success – if it ends up failing then maybe I’ll be sad and have an upset emotion to work through.  I think because I like to be not to emotional – steady without a lot of high highs and low lows – I naturally try to avoid the chances of a big let down. But what if I could change my thoughts to be more optimistic and choose to expect the best?! Yes, what if?!

Anyways, just something I’m thinking through right now – handling my thoughts to expect good instead of failure.  Choosing to be ok if that means a failure will be really upsetting because I went in expecting success.

FYI – really, really recommend this book. It’s been so great for me and for many of the other ladies studying it with me.

2 comments

  1. Ginger , I am so excited to hear you are memorizing Gods word. psalm119:11. thy word have I hid in my heart that I may not sin against you. Sounds like a great book. I rembrr reading a book “The battle for the mind” by Jerry Bridges. Joyce’s book sounds very similar.

Leave a Reply

