Recipe: Teriyaki Tilapia Salad

Summer and salads go together.  Just like winter and a pot of something delicious go together.

At this point, my husband and kids are sick of kale salads. We’ve had them about 8 of the last 12 days.  I can’t help it, they are delicious and there are tons of things you can throw in there. Plus I got a huge bag and have to use it all up before it goes bad. So that means lots of kale on repeat!

Here’s a non-kale salad we enjoyed recently.
tilap

I usually cook my tilapia the same way – cumin or taco seasoning. I wanted to mix it up but I thought teriyaki might be too heavy for the light fish. I was wrong, it was delicious!

Teriyaki Tilapia Salad
4  tilapia filets
teriyaki marinade/sauce

salad:
1 head romaine, chopped
3 tbsp craisins
3 tbsp sliced almonds
1/4 small red onion, sliced
2 mini packages ChickFilA roasted pepper croutons (not sure what they are but my MIL brought them home from a date with the kids one day because she didn’t want them on her salad and they were delicious)
Olive Garden Italian dressing

Cook tilapia in skillet in a small amount of oil so it doesn’t stick.  Lightly brush with teriyaki glaze on both sides. Cook about 3-4 minutes per side until white. Meanwhile, mix all salad ingredients together.  Serve salad on plates and top with a filet. Serve while fish is hot!

Leave a Reply

