Today.

Today was a great day.  It was like most other days, but what made today great was a choice I made this morning: I am in charge of my reaction.

I was reminded recently of this concept when reading a Christian family blog.  I know there are times in my day that don’t go according to plan – that the idea of perfect, in my mind, rarely exists in real life – but I get to choose how I handle the imperfections.  

Today was a great day.  Not because my kids were perfectly behaved (although I will say that tantrums were minimal), but because I chose to handle those tantrums differently – patiently.

Today was a great day. Not because work went according to plan (it rarely does), but because each time something came up to be addressed, I made a choice for how I’d handle it – expecting that unexpected items would come up.

Today was a great day.  Not because a bedtime was a breeze, but because I chose to embrace the chaos of bedtime. Spending a few extra minutes on prayers and pillow talk with my kids.

Today was a great day. Not because my husband and I agreed on everything, but because I didn’t take it to heart when we didn’t. Because it’s ok for us to have different opinions and work through the decisions.

Today was a great day.  Because this morning, I decided to take control of my reactions. I decided to try to be a little more like Jesus than I have been lately. I decided that I would strive for a perfectly imperfect day – handling it as it came.

This isn’t easy for me. I struggle with many Type-A-isms that drive me to want to control everything. But today, I decided that letting things go a little out of control was best not only for me, but for all those in my daily circle.

Today. Today was a great day.

Leave a Reply

