Listening for Whispers

I’m rereading parts of Joyce Meyer’s Battlefield of the Mind.  It was such a good book chock full of ideas and areas I struggle with, and filled with lots of practical application.  One of the areas I reread this week talked about how God speaks in a whisper.

“Go out and stand before me on the mountain,” the Lord told him. And as Elijah stood there, the Lord passed by, and a mighty windstorm hit the mountain. It was such a terrible blast that the rocks were torn loose, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. And after the earthquake there was a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire there was the sound of a gentle whisper.”  I Kings 19:11-12

And Joyce went on to talk about how we so often fill our mind with thoughts (worries, frustrations, chaos, activities, etc.) so it’s crammed to the brim. And when we do that, filling our head with so much, how can we possibly hear God’s whispers?  If you’re at a football game with tons of noise and chaos, how can you expect to hear the whisper of the person next to you?

And this got me thinking about how full my mind is.  Filled with worries about my family and our future (what ifs), things I want to do around the house, activities that fill our calendar, my never ending mental to-do list, work projects…  I’ve gotten to the point where if I’m not doing two things at once, I feel like I’m slacking off.  So when I watch tv, I need to be folding laundry, getting in my steps for the day or playing a round of solitaire on my phone.  While I eat a meal, I like to check in with my family and also mentally plan the rest of our day and what needs to be done.

It’s hard to shut it off.

But through this reminder, I’m realizing that I can’t hear God talking to me if I’m so busy on my other things.  How can I hear his whispers, if I constantly keep my mind maxed out?

This is something I’m working on.  Taking more time to just be still.  It sounds simple but it’s really hard to do.  Shutting everything out of your mind and not letting your own thoughts disrupt your quiet.  Silencing the grocery list, the honey do list, the “me, me, me” prayer requests and quieting my thoughts.

I’m planning time in my day for listening.  Because every time I’ve really listened, He’s spoken to me.

Leave a Reply

